77 Branches of Faith 77 Branches of Faith

The Messenger of Allāh ﷺ said:

“There are over 70 branches of faith. The highest is to bear witness that ‘There is no god but Allāh and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allāh’ (lā ilāha illallāhu Muhammadur rasūlullāh). The lowest is the removal of harm from the road. Modesty is also of faith.” 1

The ‘Seventy-Seven Branches of Faith’ 2 are a collection of Qur’anic verses and Prophetic narrations compiled by Imām al-Bayhaqī (Allah be pleased with him) in 458 A.H. In it, he explains the essential virtues that reflect true faith (imān). These seventy-seven branches are some of the essential attributes and characteristics that a true believer should have or strive towards having.

Complete Iman in reality consists of three components:

Confirmation by heart of all the essentials of Iman
Confirmation by tongue of all the essentials of Iman
Confirmation by actions of all the essentials of Iman

Thus, the ”77 Branches of Faith” are divided into three categories:

The first of which concern the intention, belief and action of the heart,
The second concern the use of the tongue,
and the third concern all the remaining parts of the body.

Abdul Hakim Murad, professor of Divinity at Cambridge University, was the first to translate this work into the English language 3. As the book is no longer in print, here then are the Seventy-Seven Branches of Faith:


1. Belief in Allah (Testimony of Faith: La ilaha illallah’ (there is no true god except Allah)
2. To believe that everything other than Allah was non-existent. Thereafter, Allah Ta’ala created these things and subsequently they came into existence.
3. To believe in the existence of Angels (Malaaikah).
4. To believe that all the Heavenly Books (Kutub) that were sent to the different prophets are true. However, apart from the Quran, all other books are not valid anymore.
5. To believe that all the prophets are true. However, we are commanded to follow Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) alone.
6. To believe that Allah Ta’ala has knowledge of everything from before-hand and that only that which He sanctions or wishes will occur.
7. To believe that the Day of Resurrection (Qiyaamah) will definitely occur.
8. To believe in the existence of Paradise (Jannah).
9. To believe in the existence of Hell (Jahannam).
10. To have love for Allah Ta’ala.
11. To have love for Rasulullah (peace and blessings be upon him).
12. To love or hate someone solely because of Allah.
13. To execute all good acts with sincerity (the intention of deen; to please Allah alone).
14. To regret and express remorse when a sin is committed.
15. To fear Allah Ta’ala.
16. To hope for the mercy of Allah Ta’ala.
17. To be modest.
18. To express gratitude (Shukr) over a bounty or favour.
19. To fulfil promises.
20. To exercise patience (Sabr).
21. To consider yourself lower than others.
22. To have mercy on the creation.
23. To be pleased with whatever you experience (decree) from Allah Ta’ala.
24. To place your trust in Allah Ta’ala.
25. Not to boast or brag over any quality that you posses.
26. Not to have malice or hatred towards anybody.
27. Not to be envious of anyone.
28. Not to become angry.
29. Not to wish harm for anyone.
30. Not to have love for the world.


31. To recite the Kalimah with the tongue.
32. To recite the Quran.
33. To acquire knowledge.
34. To pass on knowledge.
35. To make dua.
36. To make the zikr of Allah Ta’ala.
37. To abstain from the following: lies, backbiting (gheebah), vulgar words, cursing, singing(indecent) that is contrary to the Shariah.


38. To make wudhu, ghusl, and keep one’s clothing clean.
39. To be steadfast in offering Salaat.
40. To pay zakaat and sadaqatul fitr.
41. To fast.
42. To perform the Hajj.
43. To make i’tikaaf.
44. To move away or migrate from that place which is harmful for one’s religion (deen).
45. To fulfil the vows that have been made to Allah.
46. To fulfil the oaths that are not sinful.
47. To pay the kaffarah for unfulfilled oaths.
48. To cover those of the body that are compulsory (fard) to cover.
49. To make qurbaani (sacrifice for Allah).
50. To enshroud and bury the deceased.
51. To fulfil your debts.
52. To abstain from prohibited things when undertaking monetary transactions.
53. Not to conceal something true which you may have witnessed.
54. To get married when the Nafs desires to do so.
55. To fulfil the rights of those who are under you.
56. To provide comfort to one’s parents.
57. To rear children in the proper manner.
58. Not to sever relations with one’s friends and relatives.
59. To obey one’s master.
60. To be just.
61. Not to initiate any way that is contrary to that of the generality of the Muslims.
62. To obey the ruler, provided what he orders, is not contrary to the Shariah.
63. To make peace between two warring groups or individuals.
64. To assist in noble tasks.
65. To command the good and prohibit the evil (An Nahyi ‘Anil Munkar).
66. If it is the government, it should mete out punishments according to the Shariah.
67. To strive against the enemies of deen (if possible by hand, if not by tongue (pen), if not by heart) whenever such an occasion presents itself.
68. To fulfil one’s trusts (amaanah).
69. To give loans to those who are in need.
70. To see to the needs of one’s neighbour.
71. To ensure that one’s income is pure.
72. To spend according to the Shariah.
73. To reply to one who has greeted you.
74. To say Yarhamukallah when anyone say Alhamdulillah after sneezing.
75. Not to cause harm to anyone unjustly.
76. To abstain from games and amusements that are contrary to the Shariah.
77. To remove pebbles, stones, thorns, stick etc. from the road.

[1] Sahīh Bukhārī
[2] Al-Bayhaqī, Shu’ab al-Īmān.
[3] al-Qazwīnī, 1300. Mukhtasar Shu’ab al-Imān. Translated from Arabic by TJ Winter, 1990. India: The Quilliam Press.